Employee Suggestion Program

Annual Winners
Horizontal Line


On Tuesday, November 16, 2010, the State Employee Suggestion Board and Office of State Employment Relations honored annual award-winners in the Senate Parlor at the State Capitol in Madison. The following awards were given:

    Individual Suggestion of the Year 2010:

TOU X. YANG (Department of Transportation) was recognized for saving the department time and money by using an innovative program/spreadsheet to create miscellaneous quantities which are the basis for calculating engineering estimates for construction project lettings.  Cost Savings:  $35,730 per year.


    Group Suggestion of the Year 2010:  

KIM VONNAHME and LAURA (LAURIE) HOOD of the Department of Justice (Attorney General J.B. Van Hollen) were recognized for evaluating the printing options for the Physical Evidence Handbook which is utilized by local law enforcement officers.  The employees found that the printing option through the State Contract was substantially higher than was available through other printers. The employees proceeded to obtain the necessary quotes and approval from DOA to use other than the contract vendor.  They saved the Department of Justice $5,811 in printing costs and also saved end users (local law enforcement agencies) $2.50/copy for each handbook that will be purchased.  Cost Savings:  $5,811 per year.


    Special Recognition Award:  

The DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES (Department of Transportation) received special recognition from the Board for sustained participation in the State Employee Suggestion Program.  In fiscal year 2010,  24 of the 30 successfully implemented employee suggestions statewide originated from DMV staff. 


    Agency Coordinator of the Year 2010:  

HELENA HUDDLESTON (Department of Transportation, Division of Motor Vehicles) was recognized for her outstanding work as the Motor Vehicles division program coordinator.  This is the second consecutive year Ms. Huddleston has won this award.


    Agency of the Year 2010:  

The DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION (Secretary Frank Busalacchi) was honored as Agency of the Year for 2010 for its continuing active participation in the Employee Suggestion Program and for the innovative ideas submitted by DOT employees.  DOT has won this award at least 19 times in the past 34 years.


    Extraordinary Employee Award:  

ROBERT TOOMEY (Office of State Employment Relations) was recognized by the State Employee Suggestion Board for his work as statewide program coordinator and staff service provided to the board.

Photo Album - 2010 Awards Ceremony

Horizontal Line
Related Information